Journal / The Daily Prompt

A World Without Strife?

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to wake up, turn on the news and hear about all the amazing things that are going on?  To not be bombarded with talks of war, murder, financial crisis and all the other horrible things that come to us via our radios, TV’s, social media, and newspapers.  To be honest I don’t watch the news.  I stopped watching the news after 911.  Like so many others I sat in front of my television for nearly a week.  The news played 24 hours a day.  I sat and cried and watched in horror at what had happened.  For the entire week I was sad, angry, cried, and was terrified.  I locked and then triple checked the locks each night.  I was scared to send my children to school.

I spent the next month in a depression that I had trouble coming out of.  It was in the months following that I decided I wasn’t watching the news anymore.  Some said it was unrealistic and that I needed to know what was going on in the world.  I disagreed then and I disagree now.  I see plenty of what is going on when it crosses my feed on Facebook.  That is enough for me.

Recently there was a man named Steve Steven’s.  If you aren’t living under a rock you saw the news from one of the many sources available to you.  It was a horrific story and went viral.  I was so sad for the gentleman who was killed.  I could only imagine his terror in those final moments before his life was taken so senselessly.  At one point a news station out of Ohio was having a live broadcast.  I decided to watch a couple minutes of it while I was on break at work.  More horrific than what Steven’s had done was the comments being made by the people watching the broadcast.

There was so much anger and hatred being thrown around.  People were saying he should be tortured and ripped to pieces and on and on.  The suggestions got more brutal as the broadcast went on and I turned it off and probably went and watched a video from Bored Panda or Tasty to forget what I had just seen.

I think the only way our world can live in harmony is if we have internal peace.  We can’t change the world around us, but we can change how we react and respond to the world. I am not going to lie.  I love social media on so many levels.  I love being able to see pictures from family members across the U.S. I love being able to share my hiking adventures and grandchildren with friends and family.  I also belong to photography and hiking groups where I get to talk to other like-minded individuals.

What I don’t enjoy is the lack of filters among so many.  What if we all just slowed down and thought before we commented?  Why do so many feel it is okay to put people down or treat others horribly from their keyboards?  I sometimes wonder if this is why there is less social interaction in the real world.  I work with a young lady who actually speaks in shorthand.  She will say L.O.L. or S.M.H. and other’s that I am not even sure what they mean.

When I was young our neighborhood was a community.  There were times growing up I hated it though.  If I did something wrong my mom usually knew about it before I got back home and I was already in trouble.  One year in high school my friend and I decided we were going to skip school and head to the bowling alley to hang out.  We hid from the bus and waited until our parents left for work and began the long walk to Doylestown.  We were almost home free when a car pulled up and it was one of the neighbors asking why we weren’t in school.  Thinking quickly we said we missed the bus.  Considering that we were walking in the opposite direction we deserved the dubious look we received and had no choice but the accept the ride that got us to school.  Of course we both got grounded because our parents were ceremoniously informed of our attempt at a “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”.

As much as I hated the fact that we couldn’t get away with things back then I really do believe that our society could use a little more of it now.  Our world is so transient.  A lot of families don’t live in the same home for their whole lives.  There are many broken families and some people have neighbors they have never spoken to.

I truly believe that if we are ever to find peace and harmony in our lives and in our community we have to move outside of ourselves and truly be a part of the community in which we live.  This of course is just my opinion, but I believe it.

2 thoughts on “A World Without Strife?

Leave a Reply

