21 Days at a Time / Journal / The Daily Prompt

Day 7: Trust the Journey

February 2017-7584 copy

Wow!!  Can I just say how much I have learned today?  I never really considered myself as overusing Facebook.  It was just something I did to pass the time, something I did on breaks, something I did when I was bored, something I … Oh wait!  That is a lot of somethings isn’t it?  Today I didn’t once pick up my phone to check on what other people were doing.  Instead I used my first break to go for a nice walk.  At lunch time I checked my e-mails and looked at some blogs.  On my second break I hung outside with some co-workers and chatted.  This evening I came home, worked out, ate dinner and watched a movie.

I have so much free time!!  Where did it come from?  Firstly, tapering off on smoking.  Each time I would go outside for a smoke I would lose about ten minutes of productivity. Ten minutes that I wasn’t doing anything useful.  That doesn’t sound to bad, but times that by twenty and there goes 200 minutes out of my day.  Three and a half hours of standing outside smoking.  That would also be 200 minutes of Facebook a day, not including game time, morning time, and the last hour before bedtime!!

I am not sure if I said this before, but I am a podcast junkie.  My podcast list started out as mostly true crime (something I am fascinated with).  I have since expanded into areas that interest me deeply such as meditation, intentional living and minimalism.  These are all things that I have been interested in, but my ex-husband would have a conniption over, so I put them on the back burner.

Several months ago I got involved with a 30 day challenge from Intention Inspired. I failed miserably at that particular challenge.  See above for the reasons why.  In between Facebook and Smoking I still took time to read the e-mails and watch the YouTube videos.  My interest grew and grew.  I then found Loner Wolf and the spark began to grow into a flame.  I wanted this life.  A life of inner peace.  Something I haven’t known for most of my time here on earth.

The podcasts of death and destruction and missing people began to be replaced by Podcasts called Best Self, Challenge Accepted, Love Life, Mindful Living, etc.  Today I found Pick Up Limes.  I do believe that I listened to almost every YouTube Video she has in one day.

All of this is what really started me on this 21 Days at a Time and the 66 day blog challenge.  I wanted to challenge myself.  I want to be authentic and live a live that is mindful.  I recognize that at the moment I am perfectly imperfect.  I am striving for what I once considered unattainable in my life.  Inner Peace.

Each day it seems that God puts something else in my path that lets me know I am going in the right direction.

I stuck to the stop smoking program today.  I am again under the allowable cigarettes for the day and I feel happier and more positive than I have for a very, very, long time.  Time to shut down electronics for the night and give the brain a break from input.  Have a wonderful evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

